Why I love that my boys play Minecraft

Minecraft is the best way I found to unlock the creativity that lives in my boys and let them go all the way.

make a pick ax out of foam core and colored markers

make a pick ax out of foam core and colored markers

It’s challenging and he’s learning a ton. My oldest boy spent hours on Minecraft Wiki and Youtube.  We learned a few things the hard way.

9e58c86ab3e792b39221798df5c718a9

I learned that Youtube videos are narrated by teens and often woefully inappropriate. I learned to help the boys transition from the game when it’s time to put it away.

You can find minecraft crafts on Pixel Craft.

You can find minecraft crafts on Pixel Craft.

I studied the game. (Handy Minecraft Tips for Parents) Our language at home is encouraging, and it is no different with their gaming.  Because the games are the real education. We set up a server, We soaked up the infinite world.

We installed mods (modifications). Mods are like chasing a rabbit down a hole. Big learning curve there.

If I bring a book home and it has Minecraft on the title, it is picked up and read immediately. What are your thoughts about Minecraft?

Leave a Reply

