For my roadtrip to Kansas.

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Ah, Kansas, that much maligned road tripping state. How many times have you heard somebody gripe about having to drive across Kansas? I’ve crossed Kansas at least five times and I’ll let you in on a secret: Kansas is one of my favorite states.

Part of my love for Kansas is nostalgic: this is where I first discovered “Blue Highways”. In 2005, on my very first cross-country road trip from Pennsylvania to Oregon via the Grand Canyon, we took I-70 all the way across the country until Kansas exit 238, where we detoured south to camp for the night at Kanopolis Lake State Park.

Kanopolis was a nice enough place, meant for fishermen. We took a nice stroll along the lakeshore and young Bowie got a swim. The next morning, we decided to head west on a small county road – a yellow road, on my Adventure Atlas

View original post 252 more words

Leave a Reply

