Friends in DC this week

Dear Students,

I have a few pictures from Washington, DC that I wanted to share with you following my own quick trip out to the state capital this past week. Governor Jan Brewer also visited Washington, DC this week (not with me, but I like the coincidence). I also have a few pictures I saved of Sgt. O’Brien that he shared recently. This is a perfect week to bundle them together and share with you. Enjoy!

white house

“I’m in Washington D.C. today with other Governors discussing issues facing our states. Earlier I did a little sightseeing before we have dinner tonight at the White House with President Obama.” Governor Jan Brewer (taken from her Facebook page)

You can follow Governor Brewer on Facebook.  I’m glad she had a chance to get out and enjoy walking around DC in between meetings. Let’s enjoy some other DC pictures shared from our friends! Do you remember Sgt. O’Brien?

frank library

This is Sgt Frank O’Brien reading in our library. Sgt O’Brien lives in Washington, DC. He flew out to thank the kids for their letters while he was deployed. I hear from Sgt O’Brien from time to time, I am happy to say he loves his new job at the Pentagon.

This is Sgt. O’Brien participating in the Polar Bear Plunge in freezing Potomac river in January. I bet Sgt. O’Brien was pretty chilly! I have to laugh, he reminds me of some of my students who wear shorts and flip flops despite the cold!

frank obrien

Here I am promoting campaigns for the Pentagon during my Polar Bear Plunge this past Saturday. The water temp was 34 degrees. Between my three plunges, I was in for four minutes.–Sgt O’Brien at Sandy Point State Park, Maryland

White House Photo of the Day, showing President Obama speaking at the National Governors Association in the State Dining Room, Feb. 25, 2013. This is one of Governor Brewer’s meetings.

 President Obama takes questions during a meeting with the National Governors Association in the State Dining Room, Feb. 25, 2013

President Obama takes questions during a meeting with the National Governors Association in the State Dining Room, Feb. 25, 2013

Governor Brewer shared this picture taken on February 25, 2013 at the White House.

reception

Last night I attended dinner at the White House and today met with President Obama. I’m now heading to the Pentagon for a meeting of the Council of Governors to discuss homeland defense and the National Guard. Tomorrow meetings at the Capitol. I’m working hard for the citizens of Arizona!

This is a few weeks old, but still very special. On February 11, 2013, former staff Sgt. Clinton L. Romesha, 31, became the fourth living Medal of Honor recipient at the White House. Sgt O’Brien met him and shared this picture with us.

medal of honor

I took this picture from my seat when our plane passed over the Pentagon. I waved goodbye to Sgt. O’Brien and Washington, DC.

pentagon

From the capital,

Mrs. Kenney

Leave a Reply

