Boo! It’s Halloween-time in Phoenix

Dear Students,

With fall break behind us, the weather in Phoenix is perfect. Beautiful. Enviable. Brilliant.

I took my son Max to Vertuccio Farms on Power Rd to play in the corn maze.

I read The Spider and The Fly to some of my classes…it is my favorite read aloud for October. Click the link if you want to print it out and read it at home to your family. It is a poem that will make you jump in fright!

The Spider and the Fly by Mary Howitt

If you love animals, you can go to the Phoenix Zoo for the Boo at the Zoo and the Pumpkin Chomp and Stomp. The best times to go are early in the morning or dusk when the animals are active.

Perfect weather for a trip to the zoo

On my to-read list is The Halloween Tree by Ray Bradbury. Have you read it? What did you think?

On my calendar is the Dìa de los Muertos Festival – a community celebration complete with a community altar, live music and performances at the Mesa Arts Center. The free festival is set for October 27th.

When I see you at the library, let me know what you plan to be for Halloween! I’d like to know!

Treats not tricks,
Mrs. Kenney

Leave a Reply

