Gilbert 9/11 Memorial

After school yesterday, the boys and I took a short drive to 50 E Civic Center Drive to visit the 9/11 Memorial.

Max and Brady were able to put their hands on the beam. The twisted metal made Patriot Day a little more real to them.

Maria Behr went to my high school, her mother Hermana Behr was my Spanish teacher. She is greatly loved and greatly missed. We said a prayer for her.

The Memorial includes panels with the names of people, ordinary and brave who had lives to live and things to do.

Bishop McDevitt High School observes a moment of silent prayer on Patriot Day. The flagpole was donated by Maria Behr’s family.

I don’t like to tell my children about 9/11. But I told them all the same.

Photo by Patrick Witty “I took this photograph exactly 11 years ago this morning, at 9:58 am, just as the South Tower of the World Trade Center began to collapse. I still do not know the names of the people in the picture, but would love to. Please share this picture in the hopes they contact me.”

I also told them what Fred Rogers said on Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood. “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

The world is full of good people, just like you and me.

2 thoughts on “Gilbert 9/11 Memorial

  1. I’m so glad you took the time to visit the memorial and share a bit of history with your children. I was still living in NJ (about 45 minutes from NYC) when 9/11 occurred. It was heartbreaking. I love NYC and I grew up visiting the city often. Some of my friends’ parents worked in the towers…some did not survive. I don’t think I’ve ever cried so much in one day as I did then.

    Reply
    • It was heart breaking. A sad sad day. I wrestle with teaching/discussing it with the school kids. It is a loss of innocence. Next year I won’t bring it up in class.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

