Set your DVR: It’s Shark Week!

Try this on for size. You can email me your Photochomp

Dear Students,

It’s prehistoric hot this week in Phoenix. If I were a dinosaur I would be so happy. But I’m not, so I’m going to forget about the savage heat and concentrate on:

Are you watching?

Shark Week is something I learned about from my students. It’s been on for 25 years, which means I was 15 when it debuted. I had no idea, I had my nose stuck in a book and missed it. I love visiting with you in the library and learning the things that interest you. Come and see me this week and tell me what you like to do when it is super hot outside!

This is what I looked like when Shark Week debuted. That’s how long ago it was. Funny!

Now I know better thanks to you, sharks are awesome.

Shark Week Program guide

The Discovery Channel‘s Shark Week, which first aired on July 17, 1988, is a week-long series of feature television programs dedicated to sharks. Shark Week is held annually, normally running in July or August. Shark Week was developed to help the average person have a greater respect for sharks. Shark Week is now broadcast in over 72 countries. Shark Week is promoted heavily via social networks like Facebook and Twitter.

As Shark Week turns 25, Discovery tries to keep the annual fest relevant with audiences by building alliances with conservationists. Tens of millions of Americans get most of what they know about sharks from the annual event. (Washington Post quote). Conservationists have reached out to Discovery Channel to spread the message of conservation. It’s a great idea. Get involved, watch Shark Week and learn more how to protect our oceans and the animals that make their home there.

Chow! I mean, Ciao,

Mrs. Kenney

Leave a Reply

