Home Run Recipes: Bean Recipes for People that Hate Beans

Dear Students,

I want to like black beans but my prejudice against beans is too strong. If a meal has beans in it, I pick them out or refuse, like a child. Well, that is not working for me. Beans are healthy, I’m not a kid anymore and I can’t eat whatever I want. Time to learn to love beans. As in, man, I wish I could eat something with beans in it right now! Not just like beans. Love the bean.

Thanks to my girlfriends Rita and Cari, I’ve had two dishes that feature black beans and both were home runs. The recipes are at the end of the post. They are both addicting and even you bean haters will love them.

My friend Rita is the talented chef at Province . We had girlfriend “soup night” where we all made a big pot of soap to freeze and in enjoy in lunches later. I used my good manners and when the group said “Let’s make Turkey and Black Bean Chili” I said “sounds good” but I did not mean it. I was thinking, well, that’s a soup I’ll pass on.

I happily ate my words later. I made the recipe myself at home for my family. My bean hating husband loved it too. I credit my conversion to mixing fresh diced avocado and cilantro in the chili at serving.

Does this picture make you want to say No thanks?

Rita A French’s Turkey and Black Bean Chili

1 lb. ground turkey
2 c. diced white onions
2 c. diced peppers
1/4 c. minced fresh garlic (yeah i love garlic….)
2 T. cumin
3 T. chile powder

2-28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
2-14 oz. cans of black beans, rinsed and draind
chicken stock (i use the better than bouillon base at home and just add water)
1 bunch cilantro, stems removed and roughly chopped

To garnish:
chopped fresh cilantro
diced avocado
sour cream
shredded cheddar cheese

1. In a large pot, cook ground turkey in a few tablespoons of olive oil, making sure to break it up into small pieces.

2. Add diced onion, peppers, and garlic. Season lightly with salt and pepper. Cook for 5 minutes.

3. Add cumin and chile powder and stir until it coats the turkey and meat completely.

4. Add tomatoes and black beans. Stir.

5. Add chicken stock until desired consistency is achieved. Cook for at least 30 minutes, simmering to get the flavors to develop. Adjust seasoning if needed.

6. Right before service, add cilantro to chili and stir through.

7. Plate and garnish as desired.

——

This tried and true recipe was brought to a book club meeting in January — she calls it Cowboy Ciao but I think it is also known as a “cowboy caviar”

Carrie’s Cowboy Ciao

1 can black beans (drained)

1 can white shoepeg corn (drained, do not substitute with regular white corn)

1 bunch green onions (just the onion part, slivered)

2 avocados, diced (add these last, just before serving)

1 bunch of cilantro leaves

1 tbls chopped garlic

sauce:

¼ cup olive oil

¼ cup red wine vinegar

1 tsp cumin

¾ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

Mix first ingredients. Mix sauce separately and pour over the bean mixture. Refrigerate for a few hours before serving for best results–the black beans soak up the flavor. Serve with tortilla chips (or scoops, you are going to want to scoop this one up!) Recipe can be doubled or tripled easily. As a reminder to me, two more to try. Cowboy Caviar (with pineapple) and Cowboy Ciao (From Scottsdale restaurant of the same name).

I guess it’s time for me to tackle brownies with the black beans inside. What are your favorite bean recipes? Are you a bean hater?

Beans, beans that magical fruit,

Mrs. Kenney

Recipe and Photo from the No Meat Athlete

Leave a Reply

