Man in a Maze: Labyrinths in the Valley

Man in the Maze

The Man in the Maze is a Tohono O’odham symbol of man’s journey through life. I first saw this symbol on the walls of the San Xavier del Bac Mission in Tucson, Arizona.

The building is stunning and suitable for a separate entry. I’ll focus on labyrinths here.

As a librarian, I am always on the lookout for something that will engage my students. A labyrinth is one of my favorite ways to reach that left brained or highly visual student who does not like to read. This week we are going to build a labyrinth out of string in the library. I know the kids will love it.

Public labyrinths are not as rare as you might guess, they just keep a low profile. Labyrinths are most commonly found in schools, hospitals, churches and prisons. To find a labyrinth in your area use the world-wide labyrinth finder. I found a few near my house. This week we have a half day, the weather is beautiful. I plan to take the boys to a few public ones, the closest to us is one at a funeral home. It says open to the public, so last I checked that even included moms with young children. They might regret that.

If you want to build a labyrinth of your own, this is a simple start. I would love to have one in our garden. For older kids, labyrinths are recently featured in books like the Maze Runner. The movie Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire has stunning maze scene. Finally, Halloween is a great time of year to visit a corn maze. Our favorite is Vertuccio Farms, last year it was Angry Bird themed.

Tracing the screen at the White Dove of the Desert

20120123-211125.jpg

20120208-015159.jpg

One thought on “Man in a Maze: Labyrinths in the Valley

Leave a Reply

