Maricopa County Library Bookstores

I realize that I like to read more than normal. In addition to working as a school librarian, I patronize my public library weekly. I love to add to my home library and I love to pick up guilty pleasure reads for less at the bookstore. It’s a two-fer because my purchase benefits programming I value for our community.

My favorite Maricopa libraries are South East Regional and the Queen Creek library. They have million dollar buildings. When I visit, the environment elevates my spirit. Best of all they both feature bookstores run the Friends of the Library. I know someday when my children are older if I am not working I am going to be one of those fabulous dames running the store.

Queen Creek Library

Yes, I buy books from thrift stores but not often. I prefer the library bookstore. It is cleaner and the selection is more current. The library routinely culls it’s best sellers to the bookstore. You can’t beat the prices, typically .50 to 2.00. If you need a book for a plane or the beach, stop here first.

Fun fact: the Queen Creek Library is the first municipal building in Queen Creek constructed under the town’s green building policy. If you have a youngster interested in the environment or design, have them take the Green Building Tour at the library. On my list to visit next, White Tank Mountain Regional Park (near Loop 303 and Olive Avenue) the new nature center is another “green” building and includes a Maricopa county library. And it has a bookstore!

Citizen note: Consider becoming a “friend” of your library. As a “friend” I enjoyed newsletters about plans and challenges of my favorite library. I also learned when my favorite library was at risk of closure for budget issues and I could call my representative to let him know my thoughts on that issue.

The Friends of the Library pay for the children's programming

Leave a Reply

